29 Mar How And Why You Should Use Google Ads
At Charleson Group, our aim is to share as much digital marketing information as possible with you to help you implement them into your business’s online presence. Here’s what we mean, we have previously shared tips on How and Why You Should Use Google Ads how to spend less on Facebook ads, digital marketing strategies without spending a dime, E-Commerce strategies for increased sales and so much more!. You should subscribe to our newsletter to stay up to date with all the valuable info we share here.
So today we are going to share a complete Google Ads guide with you.
Let’s get into it.
If you’re using PPC [Pay Per Click] to advertise your products and services, you should already be using Google Ads. With over 259 million unique visitors and 4.8 billion daily interactions, there’s no doubt Google will give you the results you’ve been looking for.
But before we really get into it, you might be wondering, are Google Ads really worth it? What are the benefits of using Google Ads for your business? Well, let’s look at some statistics. According to Hubspot;
- Google Ads have a click-through rate of nearly 8%.
- Display ads yield 180 million impressions each month.
- For users who are ready to buy, paid ads on Google get 65% of the clicks.
- 43% of customers buy something they’ve seen on a YouTube ad.
These are some pretty promising figures here.
In addition to these proven results, using Google Ads has the following advantages;
- Google Ads allows you to create and share well-timed ads (via both mobile and desktop) among your target audience meaning that your business will show up on the SERP at just the right moment -as your ideal customers are looking for products and services like yours via Google Search-. This way, you reach your target audience when it makes sense for them to come across your ad. We would know, our SEO services have proven quite successful every time! Just ask Carkey Masters, Spenny Technologies, Kickstore, and the many other companies whose Google ranking we have built through this amongst other strategies.
- Google Ads will also help you analyze and improve those ads to reach more people so your business can hit all of your paid campaign goals.
I hope by now I have convinced you enough.
Now, let’s continue by defining what Google Ads is.
What is Google Ads?
Google ads is a pay per click advertising platform that allows advertisers to display ads on the SERPs after someone searches relevant keywords.
Based on the keywords that a business wants to target, they pay to get their ad ranked at the top of the SERP.
The best news about Google Ads? You only pay when a visitor clicks on your ad.
Here’s an example of an ad displayed on the search engine result’s page.
You can see that all the advertisements are on the top of the SERP. They also look nearly identical to organic search results save for the bolded “Ad” at the top of the post.
The Google Ads marketplace works like an auction where businesses bid for clicks. Unlike normal bidding, not only the highest bid is considered, but also the quality score. Sounds like Greek? We’ll get into the definitions a little later.
Let’s look at the example below to understand how this works better.
If your maximum bid is $6 and Google determines that your cost per click is $3, then you get that ad placement! If they determine that it’s more than $6, you do not get the ad placement.
I hope we now understand this better.
Now that you know what Google Ads is, I’m sure you plan to use it. You’ll need to know the definitions of some common terms that’ll help you set up, managing, and optimizing your Google Ads.
Here are some of the common terms;
- AdRank – This is the position of a pay-per-click (PPC) ad on a search engine results page (SERP). The higher the value, the better you’ll rank, the more eyes will fall on your ad, and the higher the probability that users will click your ad.
- Bidding – you as the advertiser selects a maximum bid amount you’re willing to pay for a click on your ad. The higher your bid, the better your placement.
- Campaign Type – you’ll select between one of three campaign types: search, display, or video.
- Click-Through Rate – the number of clicks you get on your ad as a proportion of the number of views your ad gets. A higher CTR indicates a quality ad that matches search intent and targets relevant keywords.
- Conversion Rate – CVR is a measure of form submissions as a proportion of total visits to your landing page. Simplistically speaking, a high CVR means that your landing page presents a seamless user experience that matches the promise of the ad.
- Display Network – GDN is a network of websites that allow space on their webpages for Google Ads — these ads can be text-based or image ads and are displayed alongside content relevant to your target keywords.
- Ad Extensions – Ad Extensions allow you to supplement your ad with additional information at no additional cost. These extensions fall under one of five categories: Sitelink, Call, Location, Offer, or App
- Keywords – Keywords are words or phrases that align with what a searcher wants and will satisfy their query.
- PPC – Pay Per Click is a type of advertising where the advertiser pays per click on an ad
- Quality Score – Your Quality Score measures the quality of your ad by your click-through rate (CTR), the relevance of your keywords, the quality of your landing page, and your past performance on the SERP.
The higher your Quality Score, in conjunction with your bid amount, the better your ad positioning. The following factors (among others) affect your Quality Score:
- The relevance of your – Google ad to the search query
- Keyword to your ad group
- Ad to its landing page
- The historical click-through rate (CTR) of the ad and its ad group
- Overall historical account performance
There are also overall benefits to having a high quality score:
- Lower costs – Google rewards advertisers with high Quality Scores by lowering their cost per click (CPC), helping improve ROI.
- Higher exposure – When you have high-Quality Scores, your ads will display more often, in better positions on the SERP—the top vs. the bottom of the page. This enables you to get more clicks and conversions without having to raise your bids.
Google offers a variety of different campaign types that you can use:
- App campaign
App campaigns make it easy to promote your apps across Google’s largest properties including Search, Google Play, YouTube, Discover on Google Search, and the Google Display Network
- Search campaign
Search campaign ads appear as a text ad in the results page for the keyword.
- Shopping campaign
A shopping campaign allows you to promote your products in a much more visual way.
- Display campaign
The Display Network leverages Google’s vast website partners to showcase your ad on different websites all over the Internet.
- Video campaign
These are ads that appear in the front of YouTube videos in the form of pre-rolls.
So How Do I Use AdWords?
Follow the steps below to use Google AdWords:
- Establish your account’s goals. If you’re using Google Advertising for brand building, for example, your account setup and functionality would be somewhat different than if you’re using them for lead generation.
- Create audience personas by figuring out who your ideal customers are, what they do, what they’re searching for, and what device they use.
- At every point of the search, conduct keyword research using keyword tools such as SEMrush to discover, cost, competition, and volume for the search words.
- Create different ad campaigns and ad groups in your AdWords account, each with its own collection of keywords and ads.
- You can place your advertisements in the search results after you’ve listed the keywords that are relevant to your business and bid on them. Your Cost Per Click (CPC) will be too expensive to bid if the competition for the keywords is high. It’s easier to get granular in this case and bid for long-tail keywords that are relevant to your market.
- Create the ad. Include important keywords, a persuasive title, a simple call-to-action, and ad extensions in your ad.
- Design a mobile-friendly landing page with high-quality photos, a form, and a simple call-to-action that focuses on the advantages and features of the product or service you’re trying to sell.
- Add a Google Analytics code to your website to monitor conversions.
- The secret to an effective marketing campaign is to optimize and A/B test all of your ad copy and landing pages on a regular basis.
As I said earlier, Google ads should be a part of your paid strategy. Use the strategy and information provided above, to create your successful Google Ad campaign that drives clicks and converts leads. Feel free to contact us for any further information or to get a quote for your business.
Until next time, cheers!